to top 10 table

Best Golf Ball Retrievers Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Feb 12, 2019

What is one of the most important items that an individual may need during a day out on the golf course? We are not talking golf balls, clubs, or hats. This next item may be considered one of the most overlooked items for golf. In fact, many golfers forget about, but many golfers also need it. With a very simple design that can easily be stored inside of a golf cart bag, we are talking about golf ball retrievers.

Whether you want a single-ball retriever, a double, or a lightweight ball retriever that is easy to carry anywhere, we are eager, to begin with, product number one. Save money by retrieving your lost golf balls!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
 Callaway
96.5/100 our score
Materials
98
Grip
98
Type
93
Value
97
Callaway
Why is it better?
  • Quality brand that is timeless in the golf industry.
  • Stainless steel retriever design that picks up balls easily.
  • High quality aluminum that will not band.
  • Lightweight enough to use with one hand.
  • Headcover is designed for quality.
In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Callaway
Test Winner: Callaway
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Grip Type Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
Materials
98%
Grip
98%
Type
93%
Value
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$31.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
Materials
97%
Grip
97%
Type
96%
Value
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$18.39
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Materials
96%
Grip
96%
Type
95%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$19.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
Materials
95%
Grip
96%
Type
95%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$7.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Materials
95%
Grip
95%
Type
94%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$22.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Materials
94%
Grip
94%
Type
93%
Value
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$39.94
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Materials
94%
Grip
93%
Type
92%
Value
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$20.02
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Materials
93%
Grip
93%
Type
92%
Value
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$21.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Materials
91%
Grip
91%
Type
92%
Value
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$22.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Materials
92%
Grip
92%
Type
91%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.02.19)
$44.02
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Callaway
  • IGOTCHA
  • Nickel Putter
  • Halo Golf Ball Pick Up Tool
  • JP Lann
  • Search and Rescue 15 Foot
  • ProActive Sports Hinged
  • Orlimar OR07237
  • Forgan of St. Andrews
  • Search and Rescue 24-Foot
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Callaway

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
 Callaway
Materials
98
Grip
98
Type
93
Value
97
best offer for today
$31.99
Pros:
  • Quality brand that is timeless in the golf industry.
  • Stainless steel retriever design that picks up balls easily.
  • High quality aluminum that will not band.
  • Lightweight enough to use with one hand.
  • Headcover is designed for quality.
Cons:
  • Individuals have mentioned the ball bar comes loose easily.

Have you ever swung a bit too hard and the golf ball ended up in the water or sand? Maybe, you accidentally dropped the ball in an area you should not have. Well, this is why a person needs a ball retriever. We are eager to share the first ball retriever on this list, let’s talk about the Callaway Ball Retriever and what makes it one of the best. Here are two points to consider!

Read more

Trusted Brand

When it comes to quality brands that individuals can trust in the golf industry, this is one of them. In fact, this brand is known as one of the top of the line brands in the industry when it comes to quality design that can easily withstand the test of time. They are masterful in the way they design their products and they are all designed for maximum durability and comfort.

What You Get

When it comes to this one of a kind quality ball retriever, this brand has included everything an individual may need to keep it protected and in place. The headcover actually has a dual-zipper design to keep it safe and secure while also fitting in with any clubs an individual may be carrying.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this ball retriever, individuals can expect that part of the price for this ball retriever is due to the quality of the brand. With that said, it is one of the best ball retrievers in the industry when it comes to craftsmanship and appearance. For the price, we say it is worth it.

2. IGOTCHA

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
 IGOTCHA
Materials
97
Grip
97
Type
96
Value
96
best offer for today
$18.39
Pros:
  • Great price and easy to use.
  • Can withstand the test of time and very durable.
  • 14-foot length and an 18-foot maximum reach design.
  • Three different choices to choose from.
  • Easily store it and make it portable.
Cons:
  • Individuals have mentioned that there’s did not come with a latch.

If you are looking for a quality ball retriever that is patented and offers one of the best designs, this is it. Let’s talk about the IGOTCHA Golf Ball Retriever and what individuals can expect from this quality top of the line retriever. Here are two points to consider when it comes to this particular ball retriever.

Read more

The Reach

When it comes to a golf ball and a novice swinger, you never know where the ball will land. With that in mind, the length of this ball retriever is 14-feet but it has an 18-foot maximum reach. With that said, it can also collapse to 21 inches and it only weighs about 19 ounces for an easy to use design.

Portability

When it comes to using a ball retriever, you never know exactly when it will come in handy. With that in mind, we can say that this is one of the best ball retrievers to take with you anywhere. The portable design is collapsible and can easily be hidden in a side pocket of a golf bag. With that in mind, the stainless-steel shaft is very durable and can easily withstand the test of time.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this item, we can say that it is one of the best for individuals that want a quality shaft that is easy to store and portable. With that in mind, this ball retriever is simple and comes in three different convenient carry choices. Individuals can even expect the price to go significantly down from time to time.

3. Nickel Putter

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
 Nickel Putter
Materials
96
Grip
96
Type
95
Value
95
best offer for today
$19.99
Pros:
  • Quality golf ball pick up system design.
  • Plastic material is very durable.
  • Specifically engineered by a great brand.
  • No longer bend over and have back pain.
  • Durable design that ensures maximum comfort.
Cons:
  • Individuals have mentioned that the spring could be better quality.

As another golf ball retriever, this one, in particular, has a very different design. This golf ball pick-up system is well designed and very durable. With an intended purpose, we are eager to share the Nickel Putter Golf Ball retrieval tool. Here are two points to consider if you want a unique golf ball pick-up system.

Read more

For The Putt

This particular golf ball retriever is specifically designed to retrieve any golf ball after an individual has sunk a putt . With an easy to pick up design, individuals can easily use the putter grip. With that in mind, an individual can easily be guaranteed that the golf ball will not fall out of the putter grip.

The Design

With a simple thumb motion, an individual can easily retrieve a ball and pick it up. This is one of the best designs of this particular golf ball pick-up system. It is lightweight and durable thanks to the synthetic material design. With that said, we can guarantee that it is ideal for everyday use.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this particular item, we can say that this is one of the best golf ball pick-up systems in the industry. Individuals are guaranteed to have an easy to use system that is very durable and will not break easily. With that in mind, the price makes it worth it.

4. Halo Golf Ball Pick Up Tool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
 Halo Golf Ball Pick Up Tool
Materials
95
Grip
96
Type
95
Value
95
best offer for today
$7.95
Pros:
  • Easily picks up golf balls and can withstand the test of time.
  • Pick up flag sticks with it.
  • Will not dry, rot, or crack like plastic materials.
  • Easily pick up rubber golf balls.
  • Metal spring design that is highly durable.
Cons:
  • Difficult to store in a bag because it can get snagged onto things.

As the next quality golf ball pick up tool on this list, we are eager to share the Halo Golf Ball Pick Up Tool. This is one of the best golf ball retrievers that is effective, easy to use, and very lightweight. Let’s look at two different points of this golf ball pick up tool that is perfect for everyday use.

Read more

The Strength

When it comes to a golf ball retriever, it is either made from plastic or made from metal or other durable materials. With that in mind, part of the design quality that makes this one of the best golf ball retrievers is that it is made from a durable and high-grade spring metal that is heated and hardened with a nickel-plated design.

Never Bend Over

One of the best benefits of this ball pick up tool is that an individual will never have to bend over again to pick up the ball. With that in mind, much of the stress or pain that an individual feels when picking up a golf ball from a cup is elevated. We can see why this is a fan favorite!

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration, we can say that this is one of the best-designed golf tools in the industry. However, the best aspect is that it virtually does what many other golf ball retrievers do but at a fraction of the cost. With that in mind, this is one of the most inexpensive golf ball retrievers that an individual can purchase today.

5. JP Lann

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
 JP Lann
Materials
95
Grip
95
Type
94
Value
95
best offer for today
$22.95
Pros:
  • Strong shaft that does not bend.
  • Durable design that can withstand rust and ware and tare.
  • Available in two choices which can alter the price.
  • Quality grip that is easy to hold and handle.
  • Simple design.
Cons:
  • No fancy pick-up system.

As another quality golf ball retriever on this list, individuals can expect that this is one of the simplest golf ball retrievers in the industry today. In fact, this golf ball retriever is lightweight, easy to use, and offers plenty of flexibility and durability for the design. Here are two important points to consider if you are thinking about this golf ball retriever.

Read more

Two Choices

When it comes to something as simple as a golf ball retriever, brands usually only offer one choice in different lengths. This particular brand actually offers this golf ball retriever in two different choices. Individuals can choose between an orange pressure cup design or a simple but very durable metal hinge cup design.

The Grip

When it comes to something as important as a golf ball retriever, one aspect that needs to be masterfully designed is the grip. If not, an individual can expect the golf ball to end up back in the water with the ball retriever alongside it. The grip ensures an individual will easily be able to pick up the ball and hold onto the handle of the retriever.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this particular product, we can say that the quality of this item is found in the variety the brand offers alongside the expert craftsmanship. In fact, individuals can expect this item to easily be able and withstand the test of time thanks to the durable design and the very strong shaft. For the price, we believe it is worth considering both.

6. Search and Rescue 15 Foot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
 Search and Rescue 15 Foot
Materials
94
Grip
94
Type
93
Value
93
best offer for today
$39.94
Pros:
  • Quality golf ball retriever that can easily withstand the test of time.
  • Durable stainless-steel design.
  • Weather resistant finish to prevent rust.
  • Comes with a dual zip cover.
  • Nice style and appearance.
Cons:
  • Individuals have mentioned that the ball grasper does not work in a certain way so it can be tricky to use.

We are eager to share with our audience, the next quality golf ball retriever that is perfect for everyday use. The Search and Rescue Retriever offers plenty of functionality, durability, and maximum comfort. With that said, we want to share two important points that will make any individual add this to their Wishlist.

Read more

The End Design

When it comes to a golf ball retriever, the grip is important, but the end design of the retriever is the most important area. This golf ball retriever comes with durable stainless-steel rings that also includes a lock bar. With that said, rust is no worry here! In fact, this ball retriever comes with a weather resistant powder coated finish to protect against the weather elements.

Comes With A Cover

As we have said, attention to detail is very important. Therefore, we are impressed by the quality craftsmanship of this ball retriever that also includes a dual zip headcover for easy storage. With this, golf balls do not get stuck at the end of the retriever and individuals can expect that the head of the retriever will be well taken care of.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this item, we can say that it is one of the best ball retrievers for the quality. With that said, the price will reflect the quality and the price can change depending on the size of the ball retriever. However, if the price is not a worry, we highly recommend this golf ball retriever.

7. ProActive Sports Hinged

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
 ProActive Sports Hinged
Materials
94
Grip
93
Type
92
Value
93
best offer for today
$20.02
Pros:
  • Easily retrieve golf balls with this cup system.
  • Hinged cup design that can easily trap and secure balls.
  • Telescopic design that is well designed.
  • Rubber handle for easy gripping.
  • Lightweight aluminum build.
  • The tubing design is one of the best.
Cons:
  • Individuals have mentioned that it does not stay tight after long.

Let’s talk about the retractable ball retriever on this list! As another great quality product that comes in multiple sizes, we want to share the ProActive Sports Hinged Cup Retractable Golf Ball Retriever. Here are two important points to consider when it comes to this golf ball retriever.

Read more

The Cup Design

When it comes to golf ball retrievers, there are different design elements when it comes to the way the ball is retrieved. Some brands have designed the retriever end with a double ring design, a plastic pick up system or a cup. This happens to be one of the best cup designs in the industry because it is a hinged aluminum design.

The Pole

When it comes to a ball retriever, another one of the most important aspects of a golf ball retriever is the pole. This one, in particular, is known as a telescoping pole that can extend up to 18 feet. With this, individuals can rest assured that the pole will be able to retrieve any ball in no time.

Cost And Value

When we take cost and value into consideration for this particular ball retriever, we can say that it is one of the best in the industry for the price. With that in mind, this golf ball retriever comes in three different sizes, so individuals can decide their ideal length. For the price, which ranges depending on the size, we believe that this is one of the best cup designs available.

8. Orlimar OR07237

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
 Orlimar OR07237
Materials
93
Grip
93
Type
92
Value
91
best offer for today
$21.99
Pros:
  • Great quality ball retriever that is easy to use.
  • Adjustable shaft that can extend up to 15 feet.
  • Comfortable grip design that has good traction.
  • High visibility fluorescent head.
  • Save money by retrieving your balls, not buying new ones.
Cons:
  • Not as high quality as other brands.

As the next ball retriever on this list, we are eager to share the Orlimar OR07237 15-Foot Fluorescent Head Retriever. This particular ball retriever offers two distinctive and cool features that make it ideal for everyday use. With that said, let’s look at two important aspects of this ball retrievers.

Read more

The Shaft

As we have said, one of the most important aspects of a ball retriever is the pole or the shaft. With that said, picking up a ball is made easier thanks to the adjustable shaft design that can extend up to 15 feet in length. With this, it also can easily collapse into a golf bag for easy storage. Therefore, an individual can carry it anywhere and use it anytime.

The Head

One of the most convenient and cool features of this particular ball retriever is the head design. The head of this ball retriever includes a fluorescent head that makes it easy to retrieve balls in the water. With that in mind, individuals can expect that the design of the ball retriever is made with ergonomics in mind and masterful detail.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this particular ball retriever, we can say that it is one of the best, top of the line ball retrievers due to the easy to use design. With that said, it is also one of the most cost friendly and individuals can expect that it will be very durable. With 4+ stars and plenty of positive reviews, we recommend this ball retriever for the quality and cost.

9. Forgan of St. Andrews

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Forgan of St. Andrews
Materials
91
Grip
91
Type
92
Value
92
best offer for today
$22.99
Pros:

Effective and easy to use mechanism.

Quality ball retriever that is easy to use.

Telescopic design that saves space.

Ingenious scoop that makes recovering a ball easy.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that it can be a learning curve.

As the last golf ball retriever on this list, we want to share a very simple telescopic design that is easy to use and easy to store. The Forgan of St. Andrews Golf Ball Retriever is the best golf ball retriever for individuals that want quality and simplicity. With a simple and easy to use design, we can guarantee maximum durability and quality.

Read more

Extendable

One of the biggest benefits of this particular golf ball retriever is that it comes with an extendable design. However, while being extremely durable, it is also very thin. With that, individuals can easily recover those far away balls. While compact it is easy to store, but the average length is 12’.

The Scoop

When it comes to the ball retrieving mechanism, it is either a hit or a miss. However, with a properly design scoop system, individuals can easily pick up the golf balls that they have accidentally dropped, swung into a lake, or from their winning hole. The scoop is durable and can easily pick the ball due to the design.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration, we can say that this is one of the best golf ball retrievers that can easily be stored and is very simple to use. The design itself is pleasing with a stainless steel coated design. Overall, the scoop is very simple and works well and for the price, it has made it onto the top ten list.

10. Search and Rescue 24-Foot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
 Search and Rescue 24-Foot
Materials
92
Grip
92
Type
91
Value
90
best offer for today
$44.02
Pros:

24-foot retriever design that is easy to use.

Orange-colored head that is visible and easy to see.

Rust-free design that is water-resistant.

Large diameter head that can pick up two balls.

Internal cam lock design to adjust the length.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that you have to keep this product oiled.

Now that we have covered many different golf ball retrievers, we are eager to share another quality golf ball retriever with a unique design. This golf ball retriever is made of quality and can pick up two golf ball easily. Let’s talk about the Search and Rescue 24-Foot Orange 2-Ball Golf Ball Retriever and what individuals can expect from this golf ball retriever.

Read more

The Design

When it comes to a masterful design that individuals will love, this one easily wins! This is the perfect ball retriever for the avid golfer that wants to pick up two golfs balls simultaneously or easily back to back. With that said, the 24-foot design is easy to use and allows for an extended reach when picking up the golf ball.

The Material

When it comes to quality, this is one of the best. The stainless-steel design tubes are also rust-free so water does not affect the durability of the material. With that, an individual can safely catch golf balls without worry that the retriever will deteriorate over time. Alongside this, the handle includes a rubber design for better traction, even during rainy weather.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration, we can say that this is one of the best products in the industry when it comes to design quality due to the two-ball pickup system. With that said, the ability to pick up two balls does not double the price, but it is costlier than a standard ball retriever. However, we believe that it is completely worth it for the efficient, practicality, and the price.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

As the last question, we found this to be also one of the most important. In the case that your ball retriever brakes, or rusts, many brands have a limited warranty of a 30-90 day money back guarantee. With that, it is best to always ask the brand individual in the case that the item does not function properly, what the best return policy is.

Grip

As another one of the most important criteria to consider, the handle of the ball retriever is crucial to the overall success of the ball retriever and maximum comfort of the individual. Without a properly designed ball retriever, an individual can expect hours of discomfort as they try to use the ball retriever. Therefore, we took into consideration the handle grip and how it was designed. With that, we can ensure that all of the handles we have shared below are designed with the best quality materials to ensure maximum comfort and grip.

Type

This next criterion may be the most important, the overall length of the retriever. We not only wanted to ensure that the retriever was designed with top of the line materials in mind and the grip as well made, but the length had to the best to ensure maximum comfort and ease-of-use. For a ball retriever to function properly and for an individual to use it properly, the length has to be appropriate. With that in mind, many ball retrievers can with an extendable end that individuals can take advantage of. The benefits of an extendable end is not only that it allows an individual to easily clasp the ball, but also store the ball retriever easily in a carry bag.

Value

All of this brings us to the last and final criteria that we take into consideration, the cost and the value of the item. As one of the most important criteria, the reason we take into consideration the cost and the value is to ensure that individuals are getting the best bang for their buck deal. Of course, a properly designed ball retriever that is designed for comfort and easy use will be worth a bit more than a regular ball retriever. However, we can ensure that individuals will discover the ideal ball retriever on this list with a wide variety of different price ranges to choose from.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Grip
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Type
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Why Quality and Review are so Important

The quality of the product will determine how much wear and tear it can handle while the reviews back up the quality.

DIY vs Purchased

There are tons of information to make your own but with golf ball retrievers being so economical why not leave it to the experts and you can focus on your game.

Other Factors to Consider

Style

As one of the most important criteria to consider, the design of the ball retriever is important. The overall design will determine how an individual uses the product. Therefore, we had to ensure that the design was of the best quality, had the best springs, best extendible shaft, and the ball retriever end. With that in mind, as one of the most important criteria factors to consider, many brands include unique design elements. One of the most unique design elements that we discovered is that brands will create a translucent and bright coating retriever end so individuals can even see the retriever end under water as it reflects light. Going from end to end, let’s talk about the opposite end of the retriever, the handle.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Does it have a spring mechanism?
a:

As one of the most frequently asked questions, a spring mechanism ensures that the ball retriever will extend properly. With that in mind, many ball retrievers do come with a spring mechanism and even a lock for it to lock in retractable space in the case that an individual wants to easily store it. However, we highly recommend that individual takes the added measure of asking the manufacturer this question.

q: Is it extendable?
a:

As one of the most asked questions, yes, almost all of them are expendable. In fact, all of the ones we have shared on this list extend. Although some extend farther than others, they are all designed with top of the line materials in mind.

q: Is it water resistant?
a:

As another one of the most frequently asked questions, water resistance is very important when it comes to the overall quality of an item. Individuals want to ensure that their product will not rot or rust when it makes contact with water. With that in mind, many of the different ball retrievers that we have shared come with a water-resistant coating to ensure maximum durability.

q: Does the retriever come with a warranty?
a:

As the last question, we found this to be also one of the most important. In the case that your ball retriever brakes, or rusts, many brands have a limited warranty of a 30-90 day money back guarantee. With that, it is best to always ask the brand individual in the case that the item does not function properly, what the best return policy is.